Home > News and Publications > Archive > AUG13 > 29 For Nanjing 2013 Asian Youth Games

29 For Nanjing 2013 Asian Youth Games

Singapore Sports School held a send-off ceremony on 7 August 2013 for its 29 student-athletes heading for the Nanjing 2013 Asian Youth Games.

Track and Field Academy Girls’ Team Captain, Kerstin Ong Jing Rong, led in The Athlete’s Pledge. Sports School student-athletes and alumni take The Athlete’s Pledge before they compete in major Games.

Team Singapore’s Chef de Mission Sharon Tan Paey Fern, who had represented Singapore in table tennis at 10 Southeast Asian Games, three Commonwealth Games, three Asian Games and the Athens 2004 Olympic Games, was the guest-of-honour.

“The Asian Youth Games is a wonderful opportunity for you to compete against the best youth athletes in Asia. I hope that your experience at the Games will motivate you to train even harder so that you can compete on the biggest stage of all – the Olympic Games,” said Ms Tan, in her speech.

Badminton player Liang Xiaoyu, World No. 10 in the Badminton World Federation Junior Rankings, is looking forward to competing at the Games.

“I may be No. 10 in the Badminton World Federation Junior Rankings but there are some very good players from China, Japan and Thailand competing at the Games. I hope to play well and do Singapore proud. Attaining a podium finish will be a bonus for me,” said Xiaoyu.

The Nanjing 2013 AYG will be held from 16 to 24 August.

Singapore hosted the inaugural Singapore 2009 Asian Youth Games. Thirty-one student-athletes from Singapore Sports School competed at the Games and they won 5 gold, 5 silver and 5 bronze medals.

Student-Athletes At Nanjing 2013 AYG


Liang Xiaoyu

Yeo Jia Min


Fong Kay Yian


Nicole Mae Wong Hui Shan

Zachary Chen Yi


Aaron Tang Jun Jie

Alif Iskandar Abdul Razak

Danish Irfan Azman

Ikhsan Fandi Ahmad

Muhammad Amirul Haikal Mohamed Hassim

Muhammad Saifullah Mohammad Akbar

Muhd Nazhim Harman


Martina Lindsay P Veloso


Hoong En Qi

Lim Ching Hwang (Representing Malaysia)

Phiangkhwan Pawapotako (Representing Thailand)

Table Tennis

Angeline Tang An Qi (Representing Malaysia)

Edric Lim Zheng Jie

Yee Herng Hwee

Track and Field

Gary Wee Wei Zong

Jay Choo Zhan Xian

Keith Yong Sheng Wei

Kerstin Ong Jing Rong

Kugapriya d/o Chandran

Muhammad Adnan Hakim Samri

Muhammad Afiq Hassan

Muhammad Syazani Abdul Wahid

Nur Izlyn Zaini

Raja Afiqah Qistina Raja Mohamad Aris

Kerstin-Ong-Jing Rong-By-Vincent Nghai-20217.jpg
Muhammad-Saifullah-Mohammad-Akbar-By-Vincent Nghai-20197.jpg