Home > News and Publications > Archive > MAR19 > 4 Crowned Singapore’s Best Shuttlers

4 Crowned Singapore’s Best Shuttlers

2019 Singapore National Open Championships

Loh Kean Yew and Yeo Jia Min cemented their place as Singapore’s Number 1 Singles players when they won the 2019 Singapore National Open Championships on 1 February 2019. The duo triumphed in the Men’s and Women’s Singles against their former teammates from Singapore Sports School, Lee Wei Hong and Jaslyn Hooi Yue Yann.

Sports School’s present and past shuttlers stood on all rungs of the podium, with alumna Jia Min on the topmost. Post-secondary student-athletes Jaslyn and Si To Jia Rong followed in second and third. Jia Min had a smooth run in the tournament which began on 26 January, taking no longer than 31 minutes to defeat her four opponents in the elimination round. Jaslyn, a Buenos Aires 2018 Youth Olympian, proved to be Jia Min’s toughest competitor. In the 31-minute match, Jaslyn managed to gain 17 and 12 points against Jia Min in the two sets contested.

Similarly, in the Men’s Singles, Kean Yew cruised through his matches, securing four easy victories en route to the gold medal. Year 2 post-secondary shuttler Lim Ming Hui and alumna Tan Wei Han were top in the Women’s Doubles and Mixed Doubles respectively. Student-athletes and alumni won 4 golds out of a possible 5, along with 3 silver and 6 bronze medals at the annual Championships.

Men’s Singles
1st – Loh Kean Yew
2nd – Lee Wei Hong

Women’s Singles
1st – Yeo Jia Min
2nd – Jaslyn Hooi Yue Yann3rd – Si To Jia Rong

Men’s Doubles
2nd – Loh Kean Hean
Joint-3rd – Abel Tan Wen Xing and Toh Han Zhuo, Howin Wong Jia Hao and Aaron Yong Chuan Shen

Women’s Doubles
1st – Lim Ming Hui (and Citra Putri Sari Dewi)
Joint-3rd – Ninna Tan Ai (and Chua K-Lynn), Jaslyn Hooi Yue Yann and Si To Jia Rong

Mixed Doubles
1st – Tan Wei Han (and Danny Bawa Chrisnanta)
3rd – Lim Ming Hui and Toh Han Zhuo