Our School
Student Development
Home > Our School > School Structure

School Structure

In Sports School, the student-athletes are organised into four clusters depending on their sport: 
Cluster 1: Badminton Academy, Table Tennis Academy and Individual Programme 
Cluster 2: Football Academy and Netball Academy 
Cluster 3: Swimming Academy, Individual Programme – Aquatics (Artistic Swimming, Diving, Water Polo) and Track and Field Academy 
Cluster 4: Bowling Academy, Fencing Academy and Shooting Academy 

Each cluster has a dedicated team of staff such as General Managers and coaches from Sports Group, Academy Mentors from Academics Group, and Boarding Mentors from Corporate Services Group who see to the holistic development and well-being of student-athletes in the cluster.

Director Ms Tan Bee Lian leads the Sports Group, supported by Deputy Director Mdm Chan Wai Lin and Assistant Directors Mr Clifton Dragon, Ms Jeanie Tan Hui Hui, and Ms Ong Kaifen. 

The Sports Group, comprising General Managers, coaches and administrative staff, aims to develop student-athletes optimally based on the Long-Term Athlete Development framework, which is athlete-centred, coach-driven and sport science-supported.

Director Ms Low Ying Xiu leads the Academics Group, supported by  Vice Principal Mr Ho Beng Kiat and Assistant Vice Principal Mr Lim Han Yong.

The Academics Group, comprising teachers and administrative officers, ensures the smooth running of the secondary school and post-secondary International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme. It also works closely with partners Ngee Ann Polytechnic and Republic Polytechnic to offer customised polytechnic diploma programmes. 

The Student Development Committee is led by Dr Irwin Seet and oversees the design and delivery of a holistic learning experience for student-athletes, with emphasis on values education and the cultivation of a Champion’s Mindset. This is achieved by implementing the customised Student Development Programme and the enhanced Mentoring Programme, both of which are unique to Sports School and contribute to the nurturing of Learned Champions With Character. 

The Committee coordinates the annual level camps in collaboration with Outward Bound Singapore, the student leadership programme as well as the Values-In-Action Programme. The Committee endeavours to promote a positive school culture through the Academy Awards and other programmes that build School and Academy Spirit.

Director Mr Soon Choon Boon leads the Corporate Services Group, supported by Acting Deputy Director Mr Looi Eng Chai, and Assistant Directors Ms Chia Bee Teck, Mr Jackson Tong and Ms Sally Yeo Bee Lian. The Group oversees various aspects of organisational excellence such as Boarding, Business, Estate Management, Finance, Human Resource, Information Technology and Procurement.