Home > News and Publications > eNews! > Sports > Bowlers Snatched Titles At National Championships

Bowlers Snatched Titles At National Championships

53rd Singapore Nationals and 8th National Youth Championship 2023

Photo Credit: Singapore Bowling Federation

Singapore Sports School’s past and present student-athletes bowled their way to the podium at the 53rd Singapore Nationals and 8th National Youth Championship 2023. Over the competition held from 11 to 25 November 2023, top local bowlers gathered at the Singapore Bowling @ Rifle Range to pit their skills against one another. Our bowlers returned home with 3 champion titles, as well as 3 first runner-up positions and 3 second runner-up positions.

The Under-16 Division got the ball rolling at the tournament. Secondary 2 student-athlete Caedmon Lim played a stable game throughout the tournament. With a total of 1708 pinfalls in the Under-16 Boys’ masters, he emerged in 4th place and secured a spot in the step ladder event. Caedmon eventually concluded his campaign in 3rd place.

The Under-18 Division bowlers took over the lane, with first-year Diploma in Business Studies, student-athlete Felicia Leong shining brightly in the competition. She emerged first on the leaderboard with a total of 1706 pinfalls in the masters. She continued her strong performance in the step ladder to cement her first-place position on the podium.

Our bowlers continued their fine form in the Youth Division. Among the girls, Nur Irdina Hazly and Lim Shi En went from strength to strength in the tournament. They eventually took home 2nd and 3rd place respectively, while alumnus John Faragalla was placed 2nd among the boys.

Buoyed by their achievement in the Youth Division, John and Irdina conquered the Men’s and Women’s Open confidently. They were both crowned champions in their respective events. Alumni New Hui Fen and Xavier Teo also emerged strongly, with Hui Fen ranking 2nd in the Women’s Open, while Xavier came in 3rd in the Men’s Open.


Men’s Open
1st – John Faragalla (alumnus)
3rd – Xavier Teo Jun Hao (alumnus)
4th – Nu’man Syahmi Yusri (alumnus)

Women’s Open
1st – Nur Irdina Hazly
2nd – New Hui Fen (alumna)
4th – Bernice Lim Hui Ying (alumna)

Boys’ Youth Division
2nd – John Faragalla (alumnus)

Girls’ Youth Division
2nd – Nur Irdina Hazly
3rd – Lim Shi En

Girls’ U18 Division
1st – Felicia Leong Yong Mei

Boys’ U16 Division
3rd – Caedmon Lim