Our School
Student Development
Home > Newsroom > News Archive > News Listing > It’s A Record !

It’s A Record !


2013 Best Boy and Best Girl Award Winners. From left: Footballer Irfan Fandi Ahmad, shooter Martina Lindsay P Veloso, table tennis player Ang Wan Qi and bowler Darren Ong Wei Siong.

Sports School Student-Athletes Win 101 National Colours, 162 Zone Awards, 33 Team Awards.

Singapore Sports School won 16 Championship titles at the National Schools Games 2013 –  the most ever won since the School’s participation in 2004. Its success in the school sport scene was reflected by a record number of Sports School student-athletes being presented Zone Awards and National Colours – 162 were presented Zone Awards and 101 received National Colours. Additionally, the School won 33 Team Awards, presented to teams that finished in the top 4 of the national round of competition.

Bowler Darren Ong Wei Siong and football player Irfan Fandi Ahmad were named the Best School Boy in their sport, as were table tennis player Ang Wan Qi and shooter Martina Lindsay P Veloso for the Best School Girl  awards. This is the second year that Darren and Wan Qi have been singled out for special recognition.

Among the 10 sport academies, the Football Academy had the most number of recipients with 46 out of a total of 67 student-athletes being presented both Zone Awards and National Colours. The Track and Field Academy had the second largest contingent with 27 Zone Awards and 13 National Colours recipients, while the Bowling Academy had 21 Zone Awards and 2 National Colours recipients.

As only selected representatives from each school were invited to the presentation ceremony at Nanyang Polytechnic on 20 September 2013, Singapore Sports School honoured its 162 Zone Awards and 101 National Colours recipients at its own presentation ceremony on 23 September 2013.

Singapore Sports School alumnus Calvin Kang Li Loong was the guest-of-honour. He had represented Singapore at four major competitions before he was 20 years old – 2007 Nakhon Ratchasima Southeast Asian Games, Beijing 2008 Olympic Games, Delhi 2010 Commonwealth Games and Guangzhou 2010 Asian Games.